Monday, February 3, 2014

Local Musicians on Kennedy Suite CD (Cowboy Junkies, Skydiggers, more)

The The Kennedy Suite CD (released through Latent Recordings) is one hell of an ambitious musical project.  It's a concept album about the JFK assassination.  The disc is written by poet/composer Scott Garbe and performed by members of the legendary Cowboy Junkies along with many of their alt-folk/roots rock compatriots.

There are quite a few accomplished local artists involved in this wonderful undertaking.  Lee Harvey Osmond aka Tom Wilson, Sarah Harmer and Harlan Pepper all  have a song each on the CD.  Hamilton saxman Darcy Hepner plays on a few tracks as well

Other great musicians contributing include Skydiggers, Kevin Breit (as part of the Potion Kings), Hawksley Workman and Scott Garbe himself.  Please check out our complete song listing below for more details.

This result of this collaboration is an amazing, artful album filled with unique songs that becomes a cohesive whole that tells a wonderful story.  There's nothing else quite like it out there.

This one-of-a-kind CD can be purchased at many music stores, online shops or through the Latent Recordings shop (including a great deluxe edition with many extras). You can also download it through iTunes.

1. Origami Peace Corps Mischief Makers (The Screwed and Hawksley Workman)
Background vocals: Scott Garbe
Guitar solo: Michael Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)

2. Bullet for You (Kennedy Suite Singers)
Vocals: Ivy Mairi, John Timmins, Josh Finlayson and Andy Maize (Skydiggers), Scott Garbe, Darcy Good
Clarinets and saxophones: Darcy Hepner
Organ: Joby Baker
Acoustic guitar: Michael Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
Bass: Alan Anton (Cowboy Junkies)
Drums and percussion: Peter Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)

3. Secret Spy Decoder Ring (Harlan Pepper)

4. The Dallas Youth Auxiliary (Jessy Bell Smith)
Bass: Alan Anton (Cowboy Junkies)
Drums: Peter Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
Acoustic guitar: Michael Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
High string guitar and banjo: Josh Finlayson (Skydiggers)
Tuba: Dave Clark

5. Take Heart (Elbow Room) (Reid Jamieson)
Background Vocal: Margo Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
String arrangement: Henry Kucharzyk
Violin: Drew Jurecka
Cello: Amy Laing

6. 26 Seconds (Historical Audio Collage)

7. Parkland (Lee Harvey Osmond)
Acoustic guitar: Josh Finlayson (Skydiggers)
Bass: Alan Anton (Cowboy Junkies)
Drums: Peter Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
Electric lead and rhythm guitar: Michael Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
Background Vocals: Andy Maize (Skydiggers)

8. Disintegrating (Cowboy Junkies)

9. When Will I Be Mine? (Ruby, Ruby) (Good Family)

10. Senior Prom (Doug Paisley)
Bass: Alan Anton (Cowboy Junkies)
Drums: Peter Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
Guitar: Josh Finlayson (Skydiggers)
Organ and Piano: Joby Baker
Flutes: Darcy Hepner

11. The Truth About Us (The Ballad of Lee and Marina) (Skydiggers)
Acoustic guitar and guitar solo – Michael Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
Bass – Alan Anton (Cowboy Junkies)
Drums and Percusion – Peter Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)
Organ – Joby Baker

12. Arlington (Jason Colett)
Bass: Alan Anton (Cowboy Junkies)
Ueillean Pipes and Border Pipes: Ross Griffiths
Keyboards: Josh Finlayson (Skydiggers)
Drums: Noel Webb (Skydiggers)
Percussion: Peter Timmins (Cowboy Junkies)

13. Slipstream (Scott Garbe)

14. Reliquary (Potion Kings incl. Kevin Breit)

15. Epilogue: White Man In Decline (Sarah Harmer)
Background Vocals: Andy Maize (Skydiggers), John Timmins, Ivy Mairi and Darcy Good
Electric Guitar: Josh Finlayson (Skydiggers)

Video above courtesy of Zoomer TV

Video above courtesy of the National

Video above courtesy of the National

Link: Cowboy Junkies, More Cowboy Junkies Stories, More CD Releases 

Previous (Videos: Stephen Shelton@Rolly Rockets) - - - Next (Area Musicians on Blues Underground Network Best of Year Lists)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Talkin' Blues Podcast

Blues & Roots Radio