Monday, November 7, 2022

CONGRATS! 2022 SOCAN Award Winners (including local artists)

The 2022 SOCAN Awards were handed out at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Toronto, on October 17, 2022. They celebrate the great accomplishments of Canada’s songwriters, screen composers, and music publishers in 2021.

Below is a complete lit of winners. Local acts are bolded.

Achievement in Feature Film
Domestic Television - Fiction
Domestic Television - Non-Fiction
International Film

Achievement in Made-For-TV Movie
  • Daryl Bennett - I Am MLK Jr.
  • Cameron Catalano - The Wrong Patient


  • Composer: Evan MacDonald 
  • Songwriter: bbno$
  • Songwriter - French: La Zarra
  • James Barker Band: Over All Over Again
  • Jade Eagleson: All Night To Figure It Out
  • High Valley: River's Still Running
  • Brett Kissel: Make a Life, Not A Living
Cultural Impact Award
  • Tom Cochrane – “Life Is A Highway” 
Dance Music
  • DVBBS: West Coast
  • Loud Luxury, Frank Walker: Like Gold
  • Regard, Tate McRae, and Troye Sivan: You
  • Rêve: CTRL + ALT + DEL
Domestic Television - Animated
  • Steven Skratt & Asher Lenz (Hotel Transylvania, Rusty Rivets)
Folk Roots
  • Allison Russell
Hagood Hardy Award 
  • Alex Cuba
International Achievement 
  • OZ
International Song
  • Dua Lipa: Levitating
International Television Series
  • Graeme Cornies, James Chapple, Brian Pickett, David Kelly - Paw Patrol
  • Ed Roberton (Barenaked Ladies): Big Bang Theory
Jan V. Matejcek New Classical Music Award
  • Haralabos "Harry" Stafylakis
Licensed to Play

Presented to a SOCAN licensed business that consistently and conscientiously recognizes the importance of music rights and the importance of paying legal and ethical licenses for the public performance of music.

  • Side Door

Most Streamed Production 

  • Heartland (Keith Power)
  • Paw Patrol (Graeme Cornies, James Chapple, Brian Pickett, David Kelly)

  • BTS: Butter (Jenna Andrews)
  • Jessia: I'm Not Pretty
  • The Weeknd: Save Your Tears
  • bbno$: edamame
Post Synchronization Right
  • Editions Studio V Inc.

  • Justin Bieber: Peaches 
  • Doja Cat & The Weeknd: You Right
  • GIVĒON: Scarred 

Screen Composer
  • Keith Power
  • Performer: Drake
  • Producer: Koz
Vince Fontaine Indigenous Song Award
  • Snotty Nose Rez Kids, Drezus: Where They At
Viral Song Awards
  • Aqyila: Vibe For Me (Bob For Me)
  • EllyOtto: SugarCrash!
  • Tesher: Jalebi Baby

No comments:

Post a Comment