Friday, October 30, 2009

Local Musicians Up for Maple Blues Awards

Local performers Jack DeKeyzer, Harrison Kennedy, and Steve Strongman have been nominated for the 13th Annual Maple Blues Awards. The event will take place January 18, 2010 at Koerner Hall, Toronto.

Voting opens Friday, October 30th at noon (DST) and is open to Sunday, December 13th at noon (EDT). Blues fans cast their votes online, at

Congratulations and good luck!

Here are the nominees:

Entertainer Of The Year
Jack DeKeyzer
Little Miss Higgins
Monkey Junk
Shakura S’Aida

Electric Act Of The Year
David Gogo
Garrett Mason
Jack DeKeyzer
Monkey Junk
The Twisters

Acoustic Act Of The Year
Big Dave McLean
Braithwaite & Whiteley
Harrison Kennedy
Harry Manx
Julian Fauth

Male Vocalist Of The Year
Harrison Kennedy
Jim Byrnes
John Mays (Fathead, Maple Blues Revue)
Paul Reddick
Steve Marriner (Monkey Junk)

Female Vocalist Of The Year
Jolene “Little Miss” Higgins
Roxanne Potvin
Shakura S'Aida
Suzie Vinnick
Treasa Levasseur

New Artist/Group Of The Year
Blues Delight
Clio & The Blues Highway
Ross Neilsen
Scott McCord & The Bonafide Truth

BB King International Artist Of The Year
John Mayall
Maria Muldaur
Taj Mahal
Tommy Castro
Watermelon Slim

Recording Of The Year
Twisters: Come Out Swingin' (NorthernBlues)
Harrison Kennedy: One Dog Barkin' (Electro-Fi)
Jeff Healey: Songs From The Road (Stony Plain)
Paul Reddick: SugarBird (NorthernBlues)
Monkey Junk: Tiger In Your Tank (Beefy)

Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)
Alec Fraser
Chris Whiteley
Danny Brooks
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Paul James
Terry Wilkins
Tom Lavin

Guitarist Of The Year
Garrett Mason
Jack DeKeyzer
Steve Dawson (Jim Byrnes)
Steve Strongman
Tony D (Monkey Junk)

Harmonica Player Of The Year
Carlos Del Junco
David Hoerl (The Twisters)
David Rotundo
Jerome Godboo
Steve Marriner (Monkey Junk)

Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year
Bill Stevenson (Easley Stevenson Arsenault)
Julian Fauth
Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne
Lance Anderson
Michael Fonfara (Downchild, Maple Blues Revue)

Horn Player Of The Year
Al Lerman (Fathead, Maple Blues Revue)
Chris Murphy (Maple Blues Revue)
Chris Whiteley (Maple Blues Revue)
Johnny Ferreira
Pat Carey (Downchild, Maple Blues Revue)

Drummer Of The Year
Al Cross
Bucky Berger (Fathead)
Chris Nordquist
Geoff Arsenault (Easley Stevenson Arsenault)
Tom Bona (Raoul & The Big Time, Maple Blues Revue)

Bassist Of The Year
Alan Duffy (Jack DeKeyzer)
Alec Fraser (Broken Joe, Jeff Healey)
Gary Kendall (Downchild, Maple Blues Revue, Gary Kendall Band)
Keith Picot (The Twisters)
Tom Easley (Easley Stevenson Arsenault)

Songwriter Of The Year
Brandon Isaak (The Twisters)
Chris Whiteley & Diana Braithwaite
Harrison Kennedy
Paul Reddick
Treasa Levasse

No comments:

Post a Comment