Thursday, December 3, 2020

GOOD LUCK! 2021 Canadian Folk Music Award Nominees

For details on the event, please scroll down.

Here is a complete list of nominees (local acts are bolded)

Contemporary Album

  • Are You in Love? by Basia Bulat 
  • At the Edge of the World by Mike McKenna Jr. 
  • Drifters by Joe Nolan  
  • Reliever by William Prince
  • Sugar & Joy by The Dead South 
  • Yours To Break by The East Pointers 

Contemporary Singer

  • Catherine MacLellan for Coyote (Burlington)
  • Coco Love Alcorn for Rebirth 
  • Basia Bulat for Are You in Love? 
  • Tim Chaisson for Yours To Break
  • William Prince for Reliever 

Solo Artist 

  • Coyote by Catherine MacLellan (Burlington)
  • Lynn Miles for We'll Look For Stars 
  • William Prince for Reliever 
  • Riit for ataataga 
  • Julian Taylor for The Ridge 


  • K'eintah Natse Ju by Leela Gilday (Producer: Hill Kourkoutis)
  • Some Kind of Hell by Burnstick (Producers: Jason & Nadia Burnstick)
  • The Spark by William Prince (Producers: Scott Nolan, Dave Cobb)
  • Wintergreen by The East Pointers (Producer: Gordie Sampson)

Indigenous Songwriter(s) 

Instrumental Group

  • Beòlach for All Hands 
  • Gordon Grdina’s The Marrow for Safar-E-Daroon
  • Jessica Deutsch and Ozere for Traces 
  • Rhizome for Double Capture 

Children’s Album

English Songwriter(s)

  • Coco Love Alcorn for Rebirth
  • Basia Bulat for Are You in Love? 
  • William Prince for Reliever 
  • Pharis and Jason Romero for Bet On Love 
  • Sarah Jane Scouten for Confessions 
  • Julian Taylor for The Ridge  


  • OKAN for Sombras
  • Pharis and  Jason Romero for Bet On Love 
  • Sultans of String for Refuge
  • Sussex for The Ocean Wide
  • The Dead South for Sugar and Joy 

French Songwriter(s) 

  • Guillaume Arsenault for La partie de moi qui tremble 
  • Raphaël Delahaye for Le sens de la dérive
  • Marie-Ève Lapierre-Lemoyne for Onze
  • Flavie Léger-Roy for Ce chapeau est trop grand pour moi 
  • Alexandre Poulin for Nature humaine

Instrumental Solo Artist 

  • Marc Atkinson for Solo 
  • Benjamin Barrile for Esperando el Alba 
  • Gordon Grdina for Prior Street 
  • Nick Hornbuckle for 13 or So
  • Natalie MacMaster for Sketches 

New/Emerging Artist(s) 

  • Noah Derksen for America, Dreaming
  • Marie-Ève Laure for Onze 
  • Maya Rae for Can You See Me? 
  • Emily Rockarts for Little Flower
  • Rum Ragged for The Thing About Fish
  • Emily Triggs for Middletown 


  • Dave Clarke and  Bill Garrett for Coming Home (Steel Rail) 
  • Roy Forbes for Edge of Blue (Roy Forbes) 
  • Marc Jenkins for Bet On Love (Pharis and Jason Romero) 
  • Dayna Manning for Morning Light (Dayna Manning) 
  • Chris McKhool & John 'Beetle' Bailey for Refuge (Sultans of String)  

Pushing the Boundaries Award 

  • Aerialists for Dear Sienna 
  • Mélisande [Électrotrad] for Les myriades 
  • Riit for ataataga 
  • The East Pointers for Yours To Break 
  • The Henrys for Paydirt 

Traditional Singer 

  • Mike Bravener for Depends Upon The Pay
  • Kevin Harvey for Hand Me Down Blues 
  • Mark Manning for The Thing About Fish 
  • Lou Natale for Workin' the Mystery 
  • Pharis Romero for Bet On Love 

Vocal Group

  • Beauséjour for Beauséjour 
  • Big Little Lions for Inside Voice 
  • Kennedy Road for A Little Fight Left Yet
  • Pharis and Jason Romero for Bet On Love 
  • The Barrel Boys for Mainline 

World Album 

  • Africa Without Borders by Okavango African Orchestra 
  • Kora flamenca by Zal Sissokho 
  • La Serena by Aviva Chernick 
  • Patria by Mazacote 
  • Sombras by OKAN 

Young Performer(s)

  • Maya Rae for Can You See Me? 
  • Moscow Apartment for Better Daughter 
  • Paige Penney for Watch Out For Your Step
  • Quin With One N for Out of the Blue 
  • The Gilberts for The Gilberts: One  

From the newsletter:

(December 1, 2020 - HALIFAX) The Canadian Folk Music Awards celebrates its 16th edition, with a roster of nominations that celebrates the breadth and depth of Canadian folk music.  This year’s nominees span the country from Baie-Egmont, Prince Edward Island to Pangnirtung, Nunavut, and from Horsefly, British Columbia to St. John's, Newfoundland — celebrating the diversity and talent of artists and musicians across Canada.

Established by Canada’s vibrant and internationally-recognized folk music community, the awards currently boasts 19 categories. Nominees are chosen for each category through a two-stage jury process. More than 100 jurors, located across Canada, representing all official provinces, territories and languages, determine the official recipients in each category.

CFMAs are pleased to present two NEW Award categories for 2021. A new award for “Single of the Year” recognizes an artist or group, and their producer(s) for a single release recording, or a track from an album that was released as a single, open to all folk genres, songs and instrumentals.  Another award has been added, “World Music Album Of The Year,” which replaces the former awards for “World Solo Artist of the Year,” and “World Group of the Year.”

The 16th edition of the Canadian Folk Music Awards Celebration will take place online again this year, and will present all 19 Awards, plus the Unsung Hero Award bringing the total to 20 Awards, virtually, over the weekend of April 9-10, 2021. The Awards were originally scheduled in-person over this weekend in Charlottetown, PEI, however, the CFMAs have made the difficult decision to cancel the live shows and weekend celebrations due to COVID-19. The health and safety of our patrons, artists, staff and the general public remains paramount, more information will be shared in early 2021. 

The Awards Weekend online presentations will capture the true heart of the folk community, while celebrating the 2021 nominees and the category recipients. The virtual CFMA Awards show will announce the recipients of the 2021 Canadian Folk Music Awards. Our bilingual hosts will review all the CFMA categories, nominees, and announce recipients, including the Unsung Hero Award Presentation, along with announcing where our 2022 event will take place. Please be sure to “like” our facebook page here for easier access to the live stream →

No comments:

Post a Comment