Thursday, November 4, 2021

GOOD LUCK! 2022 Maple Blues Award Nominations Including Local Artists! VOTE!

 From the Maple Blues newsletter

There’s no stopping the blues – not even a second year of a global pandemic. In a year like no other, 2021 has proven that Canadian blues artists are tenacious, forward-thinking, and incredibly creative in the face of adversity. Despite ongoing challenges and changes, Toronto Blues Society continues to support and promote Canadian Blues artists by announcing the nominees for the upcoming 25th annual Maple Blues Awards. The winners will be announced on January 31, 2022 at the LIVE Maple Blues Award Show to be held at Koerner Hall in Toronto,

Blues fans can cast their votes online at Public Voting opens November 3, 2021 at 12:01 am Eastern Time and closes December 1, 2021, 11:59 pm Eastern .

Here's a complete list of nominees:
Local artists are bolded.

Acoustic Act

Male Vocalist

Blues with a Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)

  • Harrison Kennedy (Hamilton)
  • Murray Porter (Six-Nations)
  • Alec Fraser
  • Bobby Dean Blackburn
  • Brent Parkin
  • Dalannah Gail Bowen
  • Danny Brooks
  • Shakura S’Aida
  • Tom Lavin   

Electric Act




  • Jesse O' Brien (Hamilton)
  • David Vest
  • Duane Blackburn
  • Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne
  • Lance Anderson

Horn Player

  • Richard Thornton (Hamilton)
  • Alison Young
  • Chris Whiteley
  • Mat 'Moose' Mousseau
  • Mike Clark

New Artist


  • Gary Kendall (Niagara)
  • Alan Duffy
  • Alec Fraser
  • Alec McElcheran
  • Keith Picot


Harmonica Player 

  • Roly Platt (Simcoe)
  • David Rotundo
  • Guy Bélanger
  • Harpdog Brown
  • Steve Marriner


  • David Gogo
  • Dawn Tyler Watson
  • Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar
  • Steve Marriner
  • Sue Foley

Female Vocalist 

  • Crystal Shawanda
  • Dawn Tyler Watson
  • Dione Taylor
  • Miss Emily
  • Samantha Martin

International Artist

  • Bonnie Raitt
  • Christone “Kingfish” Ingram
  • Elvin Bishop
  • Larkin Poe
  • Tedeschi Trucks Band


  • Colin Linden
  • Kat Danser
  • Rick Fines
  • Steve Marinner
  • Sue Foley

No comments:

Post a Comment