Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Ariana Gillis Wins Canadian Folk Music Award

Local singer/songwriter, Ariana Gillis won Young Performer of the Year at the Canadian Folk Music Awards on November 21, 2009. Congratulations!

More Ariana Gillis Stories

Other winners include:

Traditional Album of the Year

James Hill & Anne Davison – True Love Don’t Weep (Langley, BC)
Contemporary Album of the Year
Joel Plaskett – Three (Halifax)
Children’s Album of the Year
Chris McKhool – FiddleFire! (Toronto)
Traditional Singer of the Year
Colette Cheverie - Hours Before Dawn (Charlottetown PE)
Contemporary Singer of the Year
Jim Byrnes – My Walking Stick (Vancouver)
Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year
Tony McManus – The Maker’s Mark (Elora ON)
Instrumental Group of the Year
Sultans of String – Yalla Yalla! (Toronto)
English Songwriter of the Year
Susan Crowe for Greytown (Halifax)
French Songwriter of the Year
Catherine Durand for Coeurs Migratoires (Montreal)
Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year
Don Amero for Deepening (Winnipeg)
Vocal Group of the Year
Madison Violet – No Fool For Trying (Toronto)
Ensemble of the Year
The Deep Dark Woods – Winter Hours (Saskatoon)
Solo Artist of the Year
Catherine MacLellan – Water in the Ground (Charlottetown PE)
World Solo Artist of the Year
Karim Saada – La Danse de L’exilĂ© (L’Assomption QC)
World Group of the Year
Jayme Stone and Mansa Sissoko – Africa to Appalachia (Toronto / Quebec QC)
New/Emerging Artist of the Year
The Good Lovelies – Good Lovelies (Toronto)
Producer of the Year
Joel Plaskett for Joel Plaskett – Three (Halifax)
Pushing the Boundaries
Steve Dawson – Telescope (Vancouver)

No comments:

Post a Comment