Sunday, November 3, 2013

Local Acts Nominated for 2014 Maple Blues Awards
Once again, our talented local musicans were honoured with quite a few Maple Blues Award nominations.

Hopefully, some of them will be receieving the kudos on the 17th annual show (run by the Toronto Blues Society) on January 10, 2014.  GOOD LUCK!

Steve Strongman, Harrison Kennedy, and Soulstack garnered two nods each: Strongman for Entertainer & Guitarist; Harrison for Acoustic Act & Male Vocalist; Soulstack for Electric act &  Drummer (Tom Bona).

Other area nominees include: Dave King (Drummer) and Brant Parker Blues Band (New Artist/Group).

Links: Steve Strongman, More Steve Strongman stories,Video courtesy of Urban Hero Magazine

Links: Harrison Kennedy, More Harrison Kennedy Stories, Video courtesy of StellaBlu477

Links: Soulstack, More Soulstack Stories, Video courtesy of Jon Knight

Links: Brant Parker Blues Band, More Brant Parker Stories, Video courtesy of Daragent2
The largest number of nominations went to Ottawa's MonkeyJunk who were listed in six categories.

Here is the complete list of the 17th Annual Maple Blues Awards nominees:


The 24th Street Wailers
Shakura S'Aida
Steve Strongman
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer

Electric Act
The 24th Street Wailers
Bill Durst
David Gogo

Acoustic Act
Brandon Isaak
Dawn Tyler Watson and Paul Deslauriers
Harrison Kennedy
Little Miss Higgins
Michael Jerome Browne

Male Vocalist
Bob Walsh
Charlie A'Court
Donald Ray Johnson
Harrison Kennedy
Jim Byrnes

Female Vocalist
Angel Forrest
Dawn Tyler Watson
Layla Zoe
Shakura S'Aida
Treasa Levasseur

New Artist or Group
Brant Parker Blues Band    
Declan O'Donovan
Denis Viel
James “Buddy” Rogers
The Mackenzie Blues Band                                         

MonkeyJunk - All Frequencies
David Vest - East Meets Vest (co-produced by Gary Kendall)
Julian Fauth - Everybody Ought To Treat A Stranger Right
Angel Forrest - Mother Tongue Blues
Ben Racine Band - One of A Kind

B.B. King International Artist
James Cotton
Dr. John
Mavis Staples
Tedeschi Trucks Band
Trampled Under Foot

David Gogo
Kevin Breit
Paul Deslauriers
Steve Strongman
Tony D (MonkeyJunk)

Carlos Del Junco
David Rotundo
Guy Belanger
Shawn Hall (The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer)
Steve Marriner (MonkeyJunk)

David Vest
Graham Guest
Julian Fauth
Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne
Lance Anderson

Al Lerman  (Fathead)
Chris Whiteley
Frank Thiffault  (Ben Racine)
Jon Wong (The 24th Street Wailers)
Shirley Jackson

Bucky Berger
Chris Nordquist
Dave King (Steve Strongman)
Sam Harrisson (Paul Deslauriers)
Tom Bona (Soulstack)

Alec Fraser
Gary Kendall 
Keith Picot (Brandon Isaak)
Omar Tunnoch (Fathead)
Russell Jackson

Brandon Isaak
Charlie A'Court
Harrison Kennedy
Julian Fauth

Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement)
Alec Fraser
Michael Jerome Browne
Danny Brooks
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Stephen Barry
Tom Lavin
Brent Parkin
Bob Walsh
Jim Zeller
Nanette Workman
Theresa Malenfant
John Dickie

Blast from the Past:  Last Year's Maple Blues Award Winners

Click here for more about the Maple Blues Awards

Previous (Bluesman Al Carter Passes) - - - Next (Videos: Workshop@Festival of Friends w D'arcy Wickham, Steve Sinnicks, Darrelle London, David Knopfler, Ken Whiteley)

No comments:

Post a Comment