Friday, September 26, 2014

Canadian Folk Music Awards Nominate Many Local Artists

Musicians throughout our area were honoured with nominations from the 2014 Canadian Folk Music Awards.  Gathering, the latest CD from Hamilton's Poor Angus is up for Traditional Album of the Year.  Former Hamiltonian Matthew Barber is in the running for both Solo Artist and Contemporary Singer. Another former resident of Hammertown, Luke Doucet received a Producer nod for his work with his duo, Whitehorse.

Links: Poor Angus, More Poor Angus Stories, Video above courtesy of Larry Steeves

Links: Matthew Barber, More Matthew Barber StoriesVideo above courtesy of Outside Music

Gathering Sparks, which features Guelphites Sam Turton and Jane Lewis along with Eve Goldberg from Toronto were nominated for Best Vocal Group.

Links: Gathering Sparks, More Gathering Sparks StoriesVideo above courtesy of Gathering Sparks

To top things off, Matt Andersen's Weightless (an album featuring writing contributions from Hamilton's Tom Wilson and Niagara's Suzie Vinnick) is up for Best Contemporary Album.

The awards ceremony will take place November 27-29, 2014 in Ottawa.


Here is the complete list of nominees.

Traditional Album
  • Poor Angus: Gathering 
  • Moustafa Kouyaté and Romain Malagnoux: Les frontières imaginaires 
  • The High Bar Gang: Lost and Undone: A Gospel Bluegrass Companion 
  • Sarah Jane Scouten: The Cape
Solo Artist 
  • Matthew Barber
  • Shari Ulrich
  • James Keelaghan
  • Lennie Gallant
  • Del Barber
Contemporary Singer
  • Matthew Barber
  • Jadea Kelly
  • James Keelaghan
  • Del Barber
  • Matt Andersen
  • Marc Maziade: Chasse-Galerie by MAZ
  • Tom Terrell and Karl Falkenham: City Ghosts by The Modern Grass
  • Luke Doucet: Éphémère sans repère by Whitehorse
  • The Fretless with Joby Baker: The Fretless by The Fretless
  • Steve Dawson: St. Louis Times by Jim Byrnes          
Vocal Group
  • Gathering Sparks
  • The Fugitives
  • The High Bar Gang
  • The Marrieds
  • Sweet Alibi
Contemporary Album
  • Matt Andersen: Weightless (featuring writing by Tom Wilson and Suzie Vinnick)
  • The Bros. Landreth: Let it Lie
  • Colleen Rennison: See The Sky About To Rain
  • Jill Zmud: Small Matters of Life and Death
  • The Strumbellas: We Still Move On Dance Floors
Children’s Album
  • Helen Austin: Colour It
  • Rattle and Strum: Rattle and Strum
  • Alex Mahé: Réveillons les bonnes chansons
  • Kathy Reid-Naiman: When It’s Autumn
  • Fred Penner: Where In The World
Instrumental Group
  • The Andrew Collins Trio
  • MAZ
  • Còig
  • Brishen
  • The Fretless
Instrumental Solo Artist
  • Maxim Cormier
  • Gillian Boucher
  • Steve Dawson
  • Jayme Stone
  • Robert Michaels
  • The High Bar Gang
  • Brishen
  • Notre Dame de Grass
  • The Fretless
  • Ventanas
The Oliver Schroer Pushing The Boundaries Award
  • Tanya Tagaq
  • MAZ
  • Mark Berube
  • The Fretless
  • West My Friend
French Songwriter
  • Klô Pelgag: L’Alchimie des monstres by Klô Pelgag
  • Alexandre Poulin: Le mouvement des marées by Alexandre Poulin
  • Antoine Corriveau: Les Ombres Longues by Antoine Corriveau
  • Julie Aubé, Viviane Roy, Katrine Noël: Mon Homesick Heart by Les Hay
  • Babies
Aboriginal Songwriter
  • Tanya Tagaq: Animism by Tanya Tagaq
  • Vince Fontaine: Colors by Indian City
  • Amanda Rheaume: Keep a Fire by Amanda Rheaume
  • Buffy MacNeil and Larry Boutilier: Surrounded by Buffy and Larry
  • Jasmine Netsena: Take You With Me by Jasmine Netsena
World Solo Artist
  • Quique Escamilla
  • Jorge Martinez
  • Susan Aglukark
  • Amanda Martinez
  • Robert Michaels
English Songwriter
  • Shari Ulrich: Everywhere I Go by Shari Ulrich
  • James Keelaghan: History by James Keelaghan
  • Lennie Gallant: Live Acoustic at The Carleton by Lennie Gallant
  • Del Barber: Prairieography by Del Barber
  • Chris Ronald: Timeline by Chris Ronald
Young Performer
  • Keiffer Mclean
  • Rebecca Lappa
  • Quinn Bachand (Brishen)
  • Kacy and Clayton
  • Benjamin Rogers
Traditional Singer
  • Kim Beggs
  • Joël Fafard
  • Mélisande
  • Sarah Jane Scouten
  • Tamar Ilana (Ventanas)
New/Emerging Artist
  • The Bros. Landreth
  • Robyn Dell’Unto
  • Scott Cook
  • Quinn Bachand (Brishen)
  • Kacy and Clayton
World Group Artist
  • MAZ
  • Shtreiml
  • Moustafa Kouyaté and Romain Malagnoux
  • Brishen
Unsung Hero Award (Not announced)

Blast from the Past: The 2013 Winners

Previous (News Roundup w Polaris Prize, Tom Finochio, Steve Goldberger, Kori Pop) - - - Next (Local Artists Win Toronto Independent Music Awards)

No comments:

Post a Comment