Sunday, July 16, 2017

GOOD LUCK! Local 2017 Canadian Country Music Association Award Nominations

This year's Canadian Country Music Award Association Award nominees were recently announced and it once again boasted a number of area musicians in the mix.

St. Catharines country boy, Tim Hicks can't seem to stop being nominated and winning awards and he's continued on here.  Tim's up for 3 categories (Male Artist of the Year, Interactive Artist or Group of the Year and Recording Package of the Year)

Links:  Tim HicksMore Tim Hicks StoriesVideo above courtesy of TimHicks

Cambridge songstress, Shae Dupuy is running against Tim for Interactive Artist or Group of the Year as well. Also from that city is Rich DaSilva (Drummer of the Year).

Links: Shae DupuyMore Shae Dupuy StoriesVideo above courtesy of Shae Dupuy

The Waterloo area is also teeming with nominees thanks to Shane Guse (Fiddle Player of the Year, Special Instrument Player of the Year) and Jimmy Boudreau (Drummer of the Year). Both are from the group, Western Swing Authority . Barrytone Studios (also from the Waterloo region) received a nod for Recording Studio of the Year.

Links: Western Swing AuthorityMore WSA StoriesVideo above courtesy of TJ Social

Brett KisselDean Brody and the James Barker Band lead the pack with 6 nominations each.

We'll be keeping our fingers crossed for them on September 10, 2017 during the awards ceremony at the SaskTel Centre.


Male Artist
Interactive Artist or Group
Fans' Choice Award
Female Artist
Group or Duo
Roots Artist or Group
Rising Star
Bass Player
Guitar Player
Keyboard Player
Steel Guitar Player
Music Director (Large Market)
Music Director (Medium/Small Market)
Booking Agency
Country Club
Country Festival, Fair or Exhibition
Country Music Program or Special
Management Company
Music Publishing Company
Record Company
Record Company Person
Record Producer(s) 
Talent Buyer or Promoter
Video Director
Links: Canadian Country Music AssociationMore CCMA Stories

    Previous (News Roundup: Top Canadian Jazz, Rough Trade, John Blackwell Jr)

    No comments:

    Post a Comment