Monday, November 25, 2019

GOOD LUCK! Local Canadian Folk Music Awards Nominees + Complete Nominations

Soon, the Canadian Folk world will be showcasing their talent at the 2020 Canadian Folk Music Awards ceremony. A number of local artists recently received nomination and hopefully, they'll be bring home some hardware.

NOTE: The Awards will be streamed online on April 4

Hamilton-born singer/songwriter Ben Caplan is in the running in three categories: English Songwriter of the Year, World Solo Artist of the Year and Producer of the Year

Links: Ben CaplanMore Ben Caplan StoriesVideo above courtesy of Ben Caplan


Steeltown's own Luke Doucet (Whitehorse) is also up for Producer of the Year

Links: WhitehorseMore Whitehorse StoriesVideo above courtesy of Whitehorse


Vineland songstress Ariana Gillis is also up for Contemporary Album of the Year.

Links: Ariana GillisMore Ariana Gillis StoriesVideo above courtesy of Concerts in the Woods


Waterloo's Danny Michel was nominated for Solo Artists of the Year  as well.

Links: Danny MichelMore Danny Michael StoriesVideo above courtesy of Danny Michel


Here's a complete list of nominees.

Contemporary Album
  • Ariana Gillis: The Maze
  • The Small Glories: Assiniboine and The Red
  • Leaf Rapids: Citizen Alien
  • Abigail Lapell: Getaway
  • Jenn Grant: Love, Inevitable
  • The Al Purdy Songbook
  • Lennie Gallant: Time Travel
  • Dave Gunning: Up Against The Sky
English Songwriter(s)
  • Ben Caplan, Christian Barry: Old Stock (Ben Caplan)
  • Lennie Gallant: Time Travel
  • Dave Gunning: Up Against The Sky
  • Kaia Kater: Grenades
  • Abigail Lapell: Getaway
  • Cara Luft, Jd Edwards, Neil Osborne, Catherine Maclellan: Assiniboine and The Red (The Small Glories)
  • Madeleine Roger: Cottonwood
  • Justin Rutledge: Passages
World Solo Artist
  • Ben Caplan: Old Stock
  • Cristian De La Luna: Sabes
  • Quique Escamilla: Encomienda
  • Roberto López: Kaleido Strópico
  • Wesli: Rapadou Kreyol
  • Luke Doucet: The Northern South Vol. 2 (Whitehorse)
  • Ben Caplan: Old Stock
  • Erin Costelo: Grenades (Kaia Kater)
  • Steve Dawson: Halfway Home By Morning (Matt Andersen)
  • Daniel Ledwell: Time Travel (Lennie Gallant)
  • Jory Nash, Chris Stringer: Wilderness Years (Jory Nash)
  • Oliver Schroer Pushing The Boundaries Award / Prix Innovation Musicale  Oliver Schroer
  • Elisapie: The Ballad Of The Runaway Girl
  • Samson Wrote: Pigeon
  • Tri-Continental: Dust Dance
  • Vishtèn: Horizons
Solo Artist
  • Danny Michel: White and Gold
  • Michael Jerome Browne: That's Where It's At
  • Jenn Grant: Love, Inevitable
  • Dave Gunning: Up Against The Sky
  • Sarah Macdougall: All The Hours I Have Left To Tell You Anything
  • Irish Mythen: Little Bones
Traditional Album
  • Old Man Luedecke: Easy Money
  • Vishtèn: Horizons
  • The Slocan Ramblers: Queen City Jubilee
  • Le Vent Du Nord: Territoires
  • Shannon Quinn: Watchmaker
Children’s Album
  • Ginalina: It Takes A Village
  • The Kerplunks: Lullabies For Big Eyes
  • Amos J + Jérôme Fortin: Magical Lullabies
  • Will's Jams: Rocks And Roots
  • Splash'n Boots: You, Me And The Sea
Traditional Singer
  • Rachel Davis: Ashlar (Còig)
  • Joshua Haulli: Aqqut
  • Sophie Lavoie: Portraits
  • Old Man Luedecke: Easy Money
  • Allison Lupton: Words Of Love
Contemporary Singer
  • Matt Andersen: Halfway Home By Morning
  • Jenn Grant: Love, Inevitable
  • Dave Gunning: Up Against The Sky
  • Lydia Persaud: Let Me Show You
  • Andrea Ramolo: Homage
Instrumental Solo Artist
  • Itamar Erez: Mi Alegria
  • Sabin Jacques: Grandes Rencontres (Sabin Jacques & Rachel Aucoin)
  • Graham Lindsey: Tradhead
  • Jon Pilatzke: Amongst Friends
  • Richard Wood: Unbroken
Instrumental Group
  • Emilyn Stam and Filippo Gambetta: Shorelines
  • Mairi Rankin and Eric Wright: The Cabin Sessions
  • Pierre Schryer and Adam Dobres: Mandorla
  • The Fitzgeralds: The Fitzgeralds
  • Toronto Tabla Ensemble: Bhumika
Vocal Group
  • Fortunate Ones: Hold Fast
  • Geneviève Et Alain: De La Rivière À La Mer
  • Musique À Bouches: L'habit De Plumes
  • The Small Glories: Assiniboine and The Red
  • The Sweet Lowdown: Low Clouds In The Morning
  • Haley Richardson and Quinn Bachand: When The Wind Blows High And Clear
  • Oliver The Crow: Oliver The Crow
  • The Slocan Ramblers: Queen City Jubilee
  • The Small Glories: Assiniboine & The Red
  • Vishtèn: Horizons
French Songwriter(s)
  • Bernard Adamus: C'qui Nous Reste Du Texas
  • Jordane Labrie, Clement Desjardins: 12 Jours (Jordane)
  • Jean Leloup: L'étrange Pays
  • Safia Nolin: Dans Le Noir
  • Caroline Savoie: Pourchasser L'aube
Indigenous Songwriter(s)
  • Sugar Plum Croxen, Shelley Hamilton, George Elliott Clarke: Constitution (The Afro-Métis Nation)
  • Jenelle Duval, Danielle Benoit, Stacey Howse: Qama'si (Eastern Owl)
  • Joshua Haulli: Aqqut
  • Diyet Van Lieshout: Diyet & The Love Soldiers
  • Mike Paul: Origine
World Group
  • Al Qahwa: Cairo Moon
  • Ayrad: Zoubida
  • Emilyn Stam & Filippo Gambetta: Shorelines
  • Pierre Schryer & Adam Dobres: Mandorla
  • Toronto Tabla Ensemble: Bhumika
New/Emerging Artist(s)
  • Birds Of Bellwoods: Victoria
  • Geneviève Racette: No Water, No Flowers
  • Gordie Mackeeman And His Rhythm Boys: Dreamland
  • Hook and Nail: Ghosts Of Taylorton
  • Lydia Persaud: Let Me Show You
  • T. Buckley: Miles We Put Behind
  • The Lumber Jills: The Lumber Jills
  • The Unfaithful Servants: The Unfaithful Servants
Young Performer(s)
  • Conway: Conway
  • Nick Earle: Breaking New Ground
  • Joshua Haulli: Aqqut
  • Keltie: Expect Inhibition
  • Jacques Surette: Marche, Marche, Marche
Blast from the Past: Last Year's Winners

Previous (News Roundup) - - - Next (Electric Guitar Videos ft Andrew Aldridge)

No comments:

Post a Comment