Saturday, October 27, 2012

Steve Strongman and Harrison Kennedy Among Those Nominated for Maple Blues Awards

Two talented Hamilton players have a great chance at bringing some award hardware home. Local soul/blues legend Harrison Kennedy and  bluesman Steve Strongman have been nominated for the 16th annual Maple Blues Awards .

Strongman has the distinction of having the most (six) nominations for this year. Kennedy will be up for two awards.

The Maple Blues Awards are taking place at Koerner Hall (Toronto) on January 21, 2013. Voting  runs October 27-December 8, 2012. Click here to register to vote.

Entertainer Of The Year
  • Colin James
  • Matt Andersen
  • MonkeyJunk
  • Shakura S'Aida
  • Steve Strongman
Electric Act Of The Year
  • Anthony Gomes
  • JW-Jones
  • MonkeyJunk
  • Paul Reddick
  • Steve Strongman
Acoustic Act Of The Year
  • Harrison Kennedy
  • Michael Jerome Browne
  • Ray Bonneville
  • Steve Strongman
  • Suzie Vinnick
Male Vocalist Of The Year
  • Chuck Jackson
  • Harrison Kennedy
  • Matt Andersen
  • Paul Reddick
  • Steve Marriner
Female Vocalist Of The Year
  • Dawn Tyler Watson
  • Nanette Workman
  • Shakura S'Aida
  • Suzie Vinnick
  • Treasa Levasseur
New Artist Or Group Of The Year
  • Ben Racine
  • Boogie Patrol
  • Conor Gains Band
  • Steve Kozak
  • The Harpoonist & the Axe Murderer
BB King International Artist Of The Year
  • Tedeschi Trucks Band
  • Michael Burks
  • Dr. John
  • Curtis Salgado
  • Joe Louis Walker
Recording Of The Year
  • Steve Strongman: A Natural Fact 
  • The Harpoonist & the Axe Murderer: Checkered Past (Independent)
  • Shakura S'Aida: Time
  • Treasa Levasseur: Broad
  • Paul Reddick: Wishbone
Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)
  • Alec Fraser
  • Michael Jerome Browne
  • Danny Brooks
  • Ellen McIlwaine
  • Joe Murphy
  • Ken Whiteley
  • Michael Fonfara
  • Stephen Barry
  • Tom Lavin
  • Matt Minglewood
  • Brent Parkin
  • Bob Walsh
  • Jim Zeller
  • Nannette Workman
  • Theresa Malenfant
  • John Dickie
Guitar Player Of The Year
  • David Gogo
  • Garrett Mason
  • Kevin Breit
  • Steve Strongman
  • Teddy Leonard (Fathead)
Harmonica Player Of The Year
  • Carlos del Junco
  • David Hoerl (The Twisters)
  • Guy Bélanger
  • Paul Reddick
  • Steve Marriner (MonkeyJunk)
Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year
  • David Vest
  • Julian Fauth
  • Kenny "Blues Boss" WayneLance Anderson (Shakura S'Aida)
  • Michael Fonfara (Downchild)
Horn Player Of The Year
  • Al Lerman (Fathead)
  • Chris Whiteley
  • Frank Thiffault (Ben Racine)
  • Jon Wong (The 24th Street Wailers)
  • Pat Carey (Downchild)
Drummer Of The Year
  • Bucky Berger (Fathead)
  • Chris Nordquist (Jim Byrnes)
  • Matt Sobb (MonkeyJunk)
  • Sam Harrisson (Paul Deslauriers)
  • Tom Bona (Soulstack)
Bassist Of The Year
  • Alec Fraser
  • Gary Kendall (Downchild, David Vest)
  • Omar Tunnoch (Fathead)
  • Stephen Barry
  • Terry Wilkins (Raoul and the Big Time)
Songwriter Of The Year
  • Julian Fauth
  • Paul Reddick
  • Shakura S'Aida & Donna Grantis
  • Steve Strongman
  • Treasa Levasseur 
Blues Booster of the Year
  • John Valenteyn (Toronto Blues Society)
Blast from the Past: Last Year's Maple Blues Winners


1 comment: