Saturday, May 11, 2013

2013 Blues Music Award Winners

Unfortunately, Hamilton's Harrison Kennedy didn't win the Blues Music Award he was nominated for (Acoustic Artist).  Eric Bibb received that honour.

The top dogs of the night were Tedeschi Trucks Band and Curtis Salgado, with three awards wins each.
The awards were handed out on May 9, 2013 in Memphis.  Below is a complete list of the winners
  • Acoustic Album: Not Alone – Ann Rabson w/ Bob Margolin
  • Acoustic Artist: Eric Bibb
  • Album of the Year: Show of Strength – Michael Burks
  • B.B. King Entertainer: Curtis Salgado
  • Band: Tedeschi Trucks Band
  • Best New Artist Debut: They Call Me Big Llou – Big LLou Johnson
  • Contemporary Blues Album: Show of Strength – Michael Burks
  • Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Janiva Magness
  • Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Tab Benoit
  • DVD: Eagle Rock Entertainment – Muddy Waters & Rolling Stones, Live at Checkerboard Lounge
  • Gibson Guitar Award: Derek Trucks 
  • Instrumentalist-Bass: Bob Stroger
  • Instrumentalist-Drums: Cedric Burnside
  • Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Rick Estrin
  • Instrumentalist-Horn: Eddie Shaw
  • Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female): Ruthie Foster
  • Pinetop Perkins Piano Player: Victor Wainwright
  • Rock Blues Album: Everybody’s Talkin’ – Tedeschi Trucks Band
  • Song:  “I Wont Cry” - Janiva Magness
  • Soul Blues Album: Soul Shot – Curtis Salgado
  • Soul Blues Female Artist: Irma Thomas
  • Soul Blues Male Artist: Curtis Salgado
  • Traditional Blues Album: Double Dynamite – The Mannish Boys
  • Traditional Blues Male Artist: Magic Slim

Links: Curtis Salgado,  More Curtis Salgado Stories, Video courtesy of KINK Radio

Links: Janiva MagnessVideo courtesy of KINK Radio

Previous (News Roundup w/Greg Quill & Videos by Jerry Johnson & Nonie Crete) - - - Next (New Home Sweet Home CD featuring Ray Materick)

No comments:

Post a Comment